The Chainlink

I am a newbie to commuting on my bike. My husband and I used to commute to work together but with a change in our schedules (thanks a lot CPS) I found myself without a car.Rather than take a bus and a train, I dusted off my bike and started riding to school. I've battled the rain, the horrible winds from Sandy but my biggest challenge so far has been the cold. Last Monday my hands were so cold it was painful. I have nylon liners and lobster claw gloves but they did nothing to prevent my hands from turning into frozen claws. Can anyone recommend gloves? I need to buy something this weekend as I've heard Tuesday and Wednesday are going to be chilly. (I've never been such an avid weather watcher!)

Thanks.

Views: 986

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Teresa,

There are some threads in the archives that have good information on this, including one or two recent ones.  I would use the following as a guideline:

-wool (unless you're allergic to it) for the base layer(s)

-a windproof layer (the lobster claw gloves you have probably are, though not all are.

-size up, so that you're not constricting blood flow with tight gloves.

-air in between layers is good

-make sure the fingers are long enough

I have perpetually cold hands, and it's been an iterative process for me. For the coldest weather, I wear Smartwool liners underneath insulated Gore-Tex ski/snowboarding gloves. They work pretty well, though I sometimes have cold hands anyway.

How thick are your lobster claws? My hands are on fire, I have thick lobster gloves that has 3 fingers together/thumb and pointer finger seperate. I do carry hand and toe warmers with me in the winter, just incase.

I bike 13 miles. How long is your ride?

Thanks. I'll look for wool liners and I may need to size up the lobster claws. I'm dreading Tuesday morning but it's better than waiting for the bus.

David P. said:

Teresa,