The Chainlink

installing Planet Bike Cascadia Fender on Trek 520 with disc brakes

I am installing Planet Bike Cascadia Fenders on my Trek 520 disc.  I had researched and these fenders are supposed to be disc brake compatible. I think the rear will not be too difficult but I am having difficulty solving the riddle of the front and am seeking  advice. I am not a terrific mechanic but figured this would be something I could do.  

The struts need to avoid the housing for the front disc brake.  I took this picture of one method. I had searched on ye olde web and found a handful of pictures. I saw one this way and another with the struts bent around the housing. I decided to try this last night and broke the small plastic piece where the struts, which are really one piece, meet. I think this is not critical as the shape of the meeting point is held and a washer seems to hold the struts when  I affix them closer to the hub. However, I wonder about the bending and whether they will reach.  I was getting minimal rubbing with the pictured method and could have played with it. I think I may be compressing the brake and have  no movement with the latter, more hub oriented method. 

Any thoughts fellow riders? Sure, I could go to a shop but I kind of wanted to give this a try. I am now having second thoughts.  Fork attachment? Hub attachment?  Other? Go to a shop? Thanks.

Views: 1241

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I've mounted fenders(Honjo) but never on a disk brake bike. Saying that I would recommend permanently bending the fender stays, no matter where you mount them, so they will stay in place when not fastened down.

If the stays are just bowed and fastened the fenders and stays will always be in stress and eventually fail.

Two box end wrenches can be used at the point where the bend will be made, one to hold the stay and the other to apply the leverage to bend the stay. They need to be near enough that there is only a gap between them for the bend.