The Chainlink

I have my Bell bike helmet for over 10 years and I have been told that I should replace it? Is that so?
As far as I know Styrofoam(the inside of the helmet) lasts thousands of years and it does not become brittle in a lifetime.

Views: 214

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I think I agree with you. It doesn't make sense that the styrofoam would become less effective in protecting your head from a fall over time (at least a reasonable amount of time). I'm sure if sweating in it for ten years would have anything to do with breaking down the integrity of the foam, but I'm no expert.
If you ask the helmet manufacturers they would say replace every three weeks !!! Seriously though, they say that if the foam is cracked that it won't be as reliable. Which is another reason I wouldn't spend top dollar for those 300 dollar fancy schmanzy ones.
wow. you should replace that helmet pronto. in fact, you should have done it like 6 years ago..
I've heard from people I trust that helmets are mostly worthless after 3 years. That is, if you get in an accident, it will break apart sooner and allow your head to take more of the impact. Someone should study the environmental impact of all this creation of styrofoam for bike helmets.
"Fancy" helmets mostly differ in weight and it's aerodynamic properties, cooling vents, etc. Take a Catlike helmet; they're $250/USD, but light as a few spokes and have a crazy amount of vents.
Depends on how you ride. I've gone through 2 before my current in the past 2 years. I've also had two major falls where my head received impact. Those fellas went in the trash.
I guess it's time for me to get a new helmet, too!
Hrm.

So I just read that if your helmet conforms to ASTM or SNELL standards then it must be sweat resistant. Also most helmet manufacturers put UV resistant stuff in the product to prevent breakdown. This info totally let the air out of the major arguments I've heard for replacing a helmet.