The Chainlink

Yet again, be careful:

 

Statement as of 2:16 PM EST on February 02, 2011

 

... Wind chill watch remains in effect from 9 PM CST /10 PM EST/
this evening through Thursday morning...
... Blizzard Warning is cancelled...

The National Weather Service in Chicago has canceled the
Blizzard Warning. A wind chill watch remains in effect from 9 PM
CST /10 PM EST/ this evening through Thursday morning.

* Wind chills... gusty winds and cold temperatures are resulting in
very cold conditions today with wind chills near zero.
Tonight... bitterly cold temperatures are likely with
temperatures ranging from 5 below downtown to 20 below in the
coldest outlying areas. The winds will subside tonight... but
still be strong enough to produce wind chills of 20 to 40 below
zero.

The Blizzard Warning has been canceled... but blowing and drifting
snow continues to plague the region today. Gusts to 30 mph will
continue through the afternoon hours but will gradually weaken
into the evening. Visibilities may occasionally be reduced to a
mile or less in blowing snow... but are no longer expected to fall to
a quarter mile. Caution is still urged for all travelers today.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A wind chill watch means the there is the potential for a
combination of very cold air and strong winds to create
dangerously low wind chill values. Monitor the latest forecasts
and warnings for updates on this situation.

Views: 25

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Weather guy said that with wind chills tonight/tomorrow can cause frostbite on exposed skin in minutes.

It's been changed from "Watch" to "Advisory":

 

Statement as of 4:26 PM EST on February 02, 2011

 

... Wind Chill Advisory in effect from 9 PM CST /10 PM EST/ this
evening to noon CST /1 PM EST/ Thursday...

The National Weather Service in Chicago has issued a Wind Chill
Advisory... which is in effect from 9 PM CST /10 PM EST/ this
evening to noon CST /1 PM EST/ Thursday. The wind chill watch is
no longer in effect.

* Timing... 9 PM CST this evening until noon CST Thursday.

* Wind chills... 20 to 25 below zero across northeast Illinois and
Northwest Indiana and 25 to 30 below zero across north central
Illinois west of the Chicago Metro and Interstate 55.

* Impacts... frostbite could quickly develop on exposed skin.
Hypothermia could quickly set in.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A Wind Chill Advisory means that very cold air and strong winds
will combine to generate low wind chills. This will result in
frost bite and lead to hypothermia if precautions are not taken.
If you must venture outdoors... make sure you wear a hat and
gloves.

This morning wasn't windy or even the coldest day of the year (7-8 degress by the bank thermometers)

RSS

Groups

© 2008-2016   The Chainlink Community, L.L.C.   Powered by

Disclaimer  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service