The Chainlink

I've never done a century ride before, and am wanting to do one this summer or early fall.
Anyone have any recommended rides?

Views: 1284

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Apple Cider Century is a nice one.
Ride to Kenosha and back.
John Greenfield's Perimeter Ride. Nearly 100 mile miles, almost entirely within Chicago's city limits on a sunny summer Saturday. The pace is slow with plenty of stops. It takes you to parts in the city that you likely never visit on your own
North Shore Century. Beautiful ride and great company. An easy route for your first.

http://www.evanstonbikeclub.org/nsc/
try the folks on spokes easter ride, its not a century, but its like 68 or so early season miles and a good way to see where youre at coming out of the winter..

http://www.folksonspokes.com/index.html

theres info on last years ride, but nothing for this year..

the calumet crank club puts on the lakeshore century sometime in late august early sept.
their website: http://www.bicycling.org/
A solor, do-it-yourself century is a good idea if you have all the skills and experience for repairs and feeding schedules. I cycled solo to St. Paul from Lake Geneva this last summer without incident, but was prepared for all breakdowns short of a cracked frame or bent rim, as much of it was out of my cell phone range.

Whether you join a group or go it alone, a training schedule is important as it will get you into shape and demonstrate if your bicycle (and saddle) is comfortable enough for 100 miles in a day. In a period of ten weeks ride everyday alternating easy days with more strenuous ones, increasing mileage each week until you reach 75 miles. Then you are ready. Most people who are in good cycling shape can do a century by just determining the number and duration of their rest stops, as well as avoiding over eating.